Aso Rock hosts the first meeting of the National Economic Council following Tinubu’s inauguration

The National Economic Council (NEC), led by Vice President Kashim Shettima, has been officially established by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

The NEC, the first of a series of meetings, is held a week after Tinubu ordered it to convene in order to develop interventions to lessen the effects of the removal of petroleum subsidies.

The president had asked the council to come up with suggestions that would help his administration, particularly in reversing the nation’s economic fortunes.

Although the goal of boosting the country’s economy is challenging, there will be no justification for failure, he had emphasized.

He reaffirmed the will of his administration to keep its commitments to Nigerians.

The council is currently convening following the inauguration.

The NEC is charged with “advising the President regarding the economic affairs of the Federation, and in particular on measures necessary for the coordination of the economic planning efforts or economic programs of the various Governments of the Federation.” The NEC holds monthly meetings.

The 36 State Governors, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, and other co-opted government officials are members of the NEC.

Those in attendance as at the time the meeting commenced are Kwara, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq; Osun, Ademola Adeleke; Kogi, Yahaya Bello; Ekiti, Biodun Oyebanji; Nasarawa, Abdullahi Sule; Akwa Ibom, Umo Eno; Enugu, Peter Mbah; Cross River, Bassey Otu; Plateau, Caleb Muftwang; Kebbi, Nasir Idris; Katsina, Aliyu Radda; and Benue, Hycinth Alia.

Others are Inuwa Yahaya from Gombe, Dauda Lawal from Zamfara, Dapo Abiodun from Ogun, Charles Soludo from Anambra, Mai Mala Buni from Yobe, Sheriff Oborevwori from the Delta, Siminalayi Fubara from the Rivers, Mohammed Bago from Niger, and Ahmad Aliyu from Sokoto.

Others are Francis Nwifuru of Ebonyi, Uba Sani of Kaduna, Godwin Obaseki of Edo, Alex Otti of Abia, Douye Diri of Bayelsa, Abba Yusuf of Kano, Bala Mohammed of Bauchi, Seyi Makinde of Oyo, and Deputy Governors Umar Kadafur and Lucky Ayedatiwa of Ondo.

George Akume, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation; Femi Gbajabiamila, the Chief of Staff; Mele Kyari, the Group Chief Executive Officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL); Oluwatoyin Madein, the Acting Accountant-General of the Federation; Folashodun Shonubi, the Acting Governor of the Central Bank; and the Permanent Secretaries of State House, Budget and National Planning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *