Okpebholo Secures New APC Governorship Primary in Edo in 2024 with 12,433 Votes

All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate for governor of Edo State emerged at Friday’s rescheduled party primary, Monday Okpebholo, a senator from the Edo Central Senatorial District.

It was last week that Senator Okpebholo, Hon. Dennis Idahosa, and Hon. Anamero Dekeri staked their claims to the APC’s governorship ticket in a contentious exercise, causing rifts among APC members of the National Working Committee (NWC) and former state party chairman Hope Uzodinma.

Although Dr. Stanley Ugboajah, the returning officer, announced Okpebholo as the victor at a separate venue, Uzodinma had already declared Idahosa the winner.

In addition, a different set of election authorities announced Dekeri the primary election victor.

However, the APC national leadership promptly ruled the first exercise inconclusive and set Thursday, February 22, 2024 as the final date for the exercise’s conclusion. In order to finish the task, it later designated Bassey Otu, the governor of Cross River State, as the chairman of the APC Primary Election Committee.

On the other hand, Governor Otu announced the final results on Friday in Benin City after tallying them from the 18 LGAs of the state. Senator Okpebholo defeated 11 other contenders in the direct primary election with 12,433 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *