Two Emerging Edo APC Guber Candidates: Idahosa and Okpebholo

Yesterday, in Benin City, chaos ensued when two candidates for governor emerged from the All Progressives Congress (APC) primaries, which was marred by disruptions and violent attacks by political thugs.

Honorable Dennis Idahosa was declared the victor of the primary by the committee headed by Governor Hope Uzodinma. He had received 40, 453 votes, surpassing all of his opponents.

“Of the 12 aspirants that contested this primary, Clem Agba scored 100 votes, Monday Okpebholo 100 votes, Hon Dekeri Anamero 230 votes, Pastor Osagie Ize Iyamu 2 votes, Gideon Ikhine 700 votes, David Imuse 400 votes, Charles Airhiavbere 162 votes, Osariemen Osunbor 180 votes, Blessing Agbomhere 50 votes, Dennis Idahosa 40, 453 votes, Ernest Afolabi 2 votes, and Lucky Imansuen 2 votes,” Uzodinma announced.

Uzodinma announced that Idahosa had been proclaimed the winner due to her high vote total.

He corrected prior claims that the primary was held at a different location and clarified that the Protea Hotel was the correct secretariat for the results release.

Officials of the National Working Committee, who had been designated as returning officers from Abuja, had also already left the original location where the announcement had been made before they were brutally assaulted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *